Leicester Tigers vs Bath LV= Cup Preview

Lucas Amorosino, Billy Twelvetrees and Harry Ellis return to the Leicester Tigers line-up for Friday evening’s Anglo Welsh LV= Cup tie at home to Bath Rugby.

Amorosino has not played since the opening cup game against Leeds Carnegie, while centre Twelvetrees picked up an ankle injury in the Heineken Cup victory in Viadana.

British and Irish Lions international Ellis reclaims his place at scrum-half.

In the forwards, England international prop Julian White makes his first start foloowing a hamstring injury and he joins Boris Stankovich and Joe Duffey in the front row.

Bath last played in the LV= Cup against Ospreys and they will be looking to build upon that victory and utilise their blend of youth and experience to put in a winning performance against the Tigers.

Bath Rugby’s Head Coach, Steve Meehan is looking forward to the opportunity to see some of Bath’s younger players taking to the pitch and being able to see their hard work put into practise.

“There is a bit of mixing and matching experience with youth,” admitted Meehan.

“This is a great chance for some of those younger guys to experience the new Welford Road and for us to see how they handle it.

“We will be able to see how their development is progressing and how mature they are as players. We are looking forward to seeing how they react.

“If we go out and perform to our best over the next couple of weeks and then end up with an opportunity to play in the semis, that would be fantastic for the squad.”

Leicester Tigers v Bath Rugby
Welford Road
Friday January 29, 7.45pm

Leicester Tigers

15 Lucas Amorosino 14 Alesana Tuilagi 13 Billy Twelvetrees 12 Aaron Mauger (c) 11 Matt Smith 10 Sam Vesty 9 Harry Ellis 1 Boris Stankovich 2 Joe Duffey 3 Julian White 4 Calum Green 5 Ben Kay 6 Ben Pienaar 7 Ben Woods 8 Brett Deacon

Replacements 16 Tom Youngs 17 Robbie Harris 18 Ryan Bower 19 Dan Hemingway 20 Tom Armes 21 James Grindal 22 Andy Forsyth 23 Johne Murphy


15 Jack Cuthbert 14 Joe Maddock (c) 13 Tom Cheeseman 12 Ryan Davis 11 Rhys Crane 10 Nicky Little 9 Scott Bemand 1 Nathan Catt 2 Pieter Dixon 3 Duncan Bell 4 Peter Short 5 Scott Hobson 6 Daniel Browne 7 Josh Ovens 8 Ben Skirving

16 Mark Lilley 17 David Barnes 18 Aaron Jarvis 19 Andy Beattie 20 Guy Mercer 21 Jonny Faamatuainu 22 Matt Keyte 23 Matt Spelman

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.