Ospreys captain Jones sizes up Leicester

The Ospreys have named their team to face Leicester Tigers at the Liberty Stadium in the Heineken Cup on Saturday and captain Ryan Jones says that they will have to keep their focus and discipline if they want to stay in the tournament.

Ospreys skipper, Ryan Jones, said:, “Saturday’s game promises to be an great occasion, an exciting afternoon and a great game between two sides slugging it out for the big prize.

“We know what we need to do, and that is get our own house in order after the disappointment last weekend, make sure we get the little things right, and with the necessary improvement in certain areas that we have been working on, we have to have confidence and faith in our ability and gameplan.

“We’ve certainly built up a rivalry with Leicester over the last few seasons, and all our games tend to be tight scorelines with not much to separate us, and they are always incident packed so I’d imagine it’s going to be quite a spectacle.

“What’s gone before won’t be of any concerns, it’s what we do on Saturday that matters, and we want to make sure that come half past three we still have an interest in this year’s Heineken Cup.

“We know that we are going to have a big crowd at the Liberty Stadium, providing us with their usual passionate support. “

“As a group of players, we want to reward them for that backing and send them back to the Village after the game with smiles on their faces, allowing them to celebrate.

“To do that, know that we’ll have to keep our focus and discipline, and play the match, not the occasion.”

Ospreys Team

15 Lee Byrne , 14 Tommy Bowe , 13 Andrew Bishop, 12 James Hook , 11 Shane Williams , 10 Dan Biggar , 9 Ricky Januarie,1 Paul James , 2 Richard Hibbard , 3 Adam Jones , 4 Alun-Wyn Jones , 5 Jonathan Thomas , 6 Jerry Collins , 7 Marty Holah , 8 Ryan Jones (Capt)

Replacements: , 16 Huw Bennett , 17 Ryan Bevington , 18 Cai Griffiths , 19 Ian Gough , 20 Filo Tiatia , 21 Jamie Nutbrown , 22 Sonny Parker , 23 Nikki Walker

The following players were not considered because of injury:

Craig Mitchell – fractured rib , Duncan Jones – broken bone in foot , Mike Phillips – ankle ligament , Tom Isaacs – shoulder , Conor McInerney – knee , Lyndon Bateman – knee, Scott Baldwin – hernia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.