Wasps sting Exiles in Anglo Welsh LV= Cup

London Wasps got their LV=Anglo Welsh Cup campaign off to a winning start as they stung London Irish with a 20-24 victory in a fierce contest at the Madejski Stadium on Sunday.

It took only two minutes for Wasps to penetrate the Exiles line as flying winger David Lemi slipped over for the five-pointer after Dave Walder made a sensational 35-yard run up the pitch.

The Exiles were however back in the match five minutes later when Australian fullback Peter Hewat scored in the corner.


Hewat added the extra points to put his side 7-5 up, but then minutes later he missed a relatively easy penalty from directly in front of the posts.


Wasps then squandered a brilliant opportunity to regain the lead when sipper George Skivington fumbled the ball with an open tryline beckoning.


The visitors did however manage to go back in front when Walder slotted a penalty, but the boot of Hewat struck back to put the Exiles 10-8 ahead.

On 27 minutes Wasps were again in front thanks to another three points from Walder, but the Exiles then won another two kickable penalties, which Hewat both missed.

Wasps made the hosts pay for the misses as they scored their second try through fullback Mark van Gisbergen who had an easy run towards the line after center Ben Jacobs made the break.

Fifteen minutes into the second period Hewat was in for his second try and this time the kicking duties were handed over to substitute Jamie Lennard who made no mistake with the extra points.

Just after the hour Walder and Lennard traded penalties and again it was back to a one-point game with Wasps leading 20-21.


With five minutes remaining the pressure continued to build on the Exiles as Wasps looked to extend their lead. Points finally came as Lemi slotted a drop goal to make it 20-24 in favour of the visitors.

Wasps ended the match with only 13 men on the park as British and Irish Lion second row Simon Shaw and Joe Simpson were sin-binned in the dying minuets.

Final score London Irish 20 Wasps 24


London Irish
Try: Hewat 2
Con: Hewat, Lennard
Pen: Hewat, Lennard

London Wasps
Try Lemi, van Gisbergen
Con: Walder
Pen: Walder 3
Drop: Lemi

Referee: Jonathan Kaplan (South Africa)

London Irish: 15 Jamie Lennard, 14 Peter Hewat, 13 Tom Homer, 12 Charlie Gower, 11 John Rudd, 10 Chris Malone, 9 Peter Richards (c), 8 Richard Thorpe, 7 Jonathon Fisher, 6 Kieran Roche, 5 Gary Johnson, 4 Andy Perry, 3 Faan Rautenbach, 2 David Paice, 1 Dan Murphy.

Replacements: 16 James Buckland 17 Alex Corbisiero; 18 Max Lahiff; 19 Matt Garvey; 20 Steffon Armitage 21 Marcus Watson 22 Mike Catt 23 Alfredo Lalanne.

London Wasps: 15 Mark Van Gisbergen, 14 Tom Varndell, 13 Lachlan Mitchell, 12 Ben Jacobs, 11 David Lemi, 10 Dave Walder, 9 Warren Fury, 8 Hugo Ellis, 7 Joe Worsley, 6 John Hart, 5 Simon Shaw, 4 George Skivington (c), 3 Bob Baker, 2 Joe Ward, 1 Charlie Beech.

Replacements: 16 Chris Whitehead, 17 Gabriel Bocca, 18 Ben Broster, 19 Marty Veale, 20 Will Matthews, 21Joe Simpson, 22 Eoghan Hickey, 23 Mark Odejobi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.