Worcester run riot in LV= Anglo-Welsh Cup

The Worcester Warriors thrashed the Newcastle Falcons 32-6 in the opening round of the LV= Anglo-Welsh Cup Match at Sixways.

Both teams failed to create many chances until the visitors’ pressure paid off in the 15th minute when they earned a penalty and Rob Miller slotted the ball over with ease.

Just seven minutes later the Warriors drew level with a Willie Walker penalty from directly in front of the posts, while the Falcons were forced to play with 14 men for 10 minutes when debutant Mark Wilson was sin-binned for hands in the ruck.

Almost immediately after Wilson was sent off the Warriors scored a try when skipper Pat Sanderson broke down the left before passing the ball to Miles Benjamin who eased across the line. They then missed the conversion.

Two minutes before the break Miller added another penalty and the half-time score was 8-6.

The Warriors got into their stride in the second half with Walker sending over a drop goal just two minutes after the break.

In the 55th minute Worcester went ten points ahead when flanker Tom Wood scored a try. Then Walker converted it to take the score up to 18-6.

In the 65th minute Newcastle went down to ten men again when Rob Vickers was sin-binned.

The Warriors immediately took advantage of their numerical advantage, as just two minutes after Vickers was sin-binned Ollie Frost scored a try which Walker easily converted.

Five minutes later, in the 72nd minute, the Warriors went a man down too when Sam Tuitupou was sent to spend 10 minutes in the sin-bin.

Despite losing Tuitupou, the Warriors scored a fourth try in the 76th minute when Jake Abbot eased across the line, and Walker converted his try.

Final Score: Warriors 32 Newcastle 6


Tries – Wood, Frost, Abbott, Benjamin
Cons – Walker (3)
Pen – Walker
Drops – Walker

Pen – Rob Miller (2)


Worcester; Latham; Garvey, Gear, Tuitupou, Benjamin; Walker, Powell; C.Black, Lutui, Gilding, Rawlinson, Bowley, Wood, Sanderson, Talei.

Replacements: Hill, Fortey, A.Black, Gillies, Abbott, Frost, Crook, MacRae.

Newcastle: Catterick; Williams, Tait, Bobo, Oduoza; Miller, Charlton; Ovens, Walker, Ward, Levi, Sorenson, Browne, Wilson, Balding.

Replacements: Vickers, Shiells, Brookes, Swinson, Afu, Pilgrim, Biggs, Amesbury.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.