Newcastle beat Worcester & move up to sixth

Newcastle moved up to sixth on the Guinness Premiership table as they claimed a hard-fought 14-3 win over Worcester Warriors at Kingston Park on Sunday.

The Falcons made two changes going into the match as Alex Tait returned from injury, while Filipo levi made a return to the second row.

It took just minutes for the Falcons to impose their physical dominance over the Warriors and in the 14th minute, the physical advantage resulted in a try for Rob Vickers.

Jimmy Gopperth missed the conversion in windy conditions, but still the home side were looking good at 5-0.

There should have been a second try on 20 minutes, but Micky Young dropped an easy pass from Rob Vickerman with an open tryline beckoning.

On the half hour Gopperth did however manage to extend the lead as he slotted a penalty to make it 8-0, which was the halftime score.

The second period started in similar fashion with Newcastle continuing to dominate and another Gopperth penalty made it 11-0 on 50 minutes.

Worcester had to wait until the 62nd minute to get their first points on the board when Willie Walker kicked his side’s solitary penalty.

Thereafter, the game entered a scrappy phase and another penalty from the boot of Gopperth five minutes from time, gave Newcastle the 14-3 win.

Final Score Newcastle Falcons  (8) 14  Worcester Warriors 3 (0)




Newcastle Falcons
Try – Vickers
Pen – Gopperth 3


Worcester Warriors
Pen – Walker


Newcastle Falcons: 15. Charlie Amesbury 14. Danny Williams 13. Rob Vickerman 12. Tane Tu’ipulotu 11. Tom Biggs 10. Jimmy Gopperth 9. Micky Young 1. Jon Golding 2. Rob Vickers 3. Carl Hayman 4. James Hudson 5. Mark Sorenson 6. Brent Wilson 7. Will Welch 8. Filipo Levi

Replacements: 16. Alex Walker 17. Laurence Ovens 18. Micky Ward 19. Tim Swinson 20. Josh Afu 21. Hall Charlton 22. Rob Miller 23. Gcobani Bobo

Worcester Warriors: 15. Calum MacRae 14. Rico Gear 13. Alex Grove 12. Sam Tuitupou 11. Miles Benjamin 10. Willie Walker 9. Ryan Powell 1. Callum Black 2. Aleki Lutui 3. Tevita Taumoepeau 4. Greg Rawlinson 5. Craig Gillies 6. Tom Wood 7. Jake Abbott 8. Pat Sanderson

Replacements: 16. Adam Black 17. Chris Fortey 18. Jack Gilding 19. Will Bowley 20. Netani Talei 21. Johnny Arr 22. George Crook 23. Marcel Garvey

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.