Geraghty shines as Saints down Munster

Shane Geraghty shined as Northampton Saints beat Munster by 31 points to 27 at Franklin’s Gardens in Northampton England on Saturday evening.


Geraghty scored a try for the Saints, kicked four penalties and converted two of Northampton’s tries.


Northampton led Munster 21-14 at the break and although the visitors came back in the second half Northampton kept the scoreboard ticking as well.


In the final stages Munster were trailing by a point but Geraghty slotted his fourth penalty which extended the gap to four points and took away the option for Munster’s O’ Gara to steal the match with a drop goal.  

Northampton director of rugby Jim Mallinder praised his star Shane Geraghty, “We have seen Shane play at under-20 level for England and throughout the age groups and he is a special talent.

“What he has done today is to back up a number of very good performances for us this season and that is probably his best performance for us tonight.” he told the BBC.

“He made a lot of good options in attack, and he can see where space is. Whether it his passing or his running game, he’s a real threat to defenders.”

Munster captain Paul O’Connell said that he was not pleased with the way Munster played, :”It wasn’t a fabulous performance but it was an improvement on Leinster last week. But we let in too many soft scores.

“There were a few defensive lapses. Against a team of the quality of Northampton you can’t give them those opportunities.

“They are good at taking their opportunities.”

“Shane Geraghty is playing well at the moment and they are very good at what they do.

“They have a strong ball-carrying game and when we presented them with opportunities they took them and took them very well.”

Final Score Northampton Saints 31 Munster 27


Northampton Saints
Tries – Ashton 2, Geraghty
Pen – Geraghty 4
Con – Geraghty 2
Drop –

Tries -Wallace, O’Leary
Pen – O’Gara 4
Con – Warwick
Drop -O’Gara

Referee: Christophe Berdos


Northampton Saints: B Foden, C Ashton, J Clarke, J Downey, B Reihana, S Geraghty, L Dickson, S Tongauiha, D Hartley [capt], S Bonorino, C Lawes, J Kruger, P Dowson, N Best, R Wilson

Replacements: B Sharman, R Dreyer, B Mujati, I Fernandez Lobbe, M Easter, A Dickens, S Myler, C Mayor

Munster: P Warwick, D Howlett, L Mafi, J de Villiers, K Earls, R O’Gara, T O’Leary, M Horan, J Flannery, T Buckley, D O’Callaghan, P O’Connell [capt], A Quinlan, D Wallace, D Leamy

Replacements: D Fogarty, J Brugnaut, D Hurley, M O’Driscoll, N Ronan, D Ryan, P Stringer, I Dowling

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.