Running rugby on the cards for Bulldogs

Border Bulldogs coach David Maidza says his team will play an attacking brand of rugby when they host the Mighty Elephants in a Currie Cup First Division match played in East London Friday evening.

Kick off is now at 7.05pm. The hosts secured their first win in the competition on Saturday following their 48-31 victory over the Valke in Kempton Park.

The East London team will be further boosted by the return of flanker and captain Gareth Krause, who is back in the starting line up after missing last weekend’s match due to injury.

The Bulldogs (8) are currently in fifth position on the log while the Elephants (11) are three points clear of them in fourth place in the First Division standings.

“The Elephants will have the advantage in that they have the services of a player of the calibre of De Wet Barry. However, I think that if we can manage to hold on to our own possession and give the ball to our wingers, we’ll be in with an excellent chance of defeating the Elephants,” said Maidza.

“The guys have their tails up following last weekend’s result so now it’s about building momentum going forward. It’s another home game for us in East London and a fixture we’d like to win.”

The Mighty Elephants though should be able to counter the Border Bulldogs’ plans of employing an attacking game plan. The Port Elizabeth team boasts several speedy players in the line up with the likes of Rocco Jansen, Howard Noble and Ryan Brown all included in the backline.

Meanwhile in the only other First Division game of the weekend, the Valke travel to Welkom on Saturday for their clash against the Griffons at the North West Stadium.

Kickoff at 3.00pm The Kempton Park team have struggled to build any moment in this season’s competition and have failed to secure a win this season.

The Griffons though are currently in third position on the log and will be aiming to achieve their fourth victory.

Teams for the weekend:

Griffons – Cecil Afrika; Roelof Steyn, Werner Griesel, Thabang Molefe, Fabian Juries; Kennedy Tsimba, Gerrie Odendaal/Enrico Scholtz; Nicky Steyn (c), Marnus Briedenhann, Albert Parsons, Windpomp van Rooyen, Gys Briedenhann, Sewes Oosthuizen, Ashley Johnson, Sarel Louw.

Reserves: Herschol Johnson, Kevin Stevens, Sandile India, Shaun Botha, Enrico Schultz/Hugo Kleynhans, Eddie Fredericks, Darryl Coeries.

Valke – Dieter de la Porte; Wensley Mbanje, Clinton Kayser, Franco Booysen, GD Kotzee/Corne Uys; Jonathan Jacobs, Alvandre Maart/Ryno Hendrikz; Reg Muller, Eves Bashiya, Liebrecht Gericke, Porra Knoetze, Bovril de Bruin (c), KP du Plessis, BB Hefer, Jacques George.

Reserves: Tango Gatya, Thamsanqua Jantjies, Lourens Grobler, Tiaan Fick, Ryno Hendrikz/Shaun Botes, Corne Uys, Tsepo Kokoali.

Border Bulldogs – Reinhard Gerber, Ghafoer Luckan, Dumisani Matyeshana, Chumani Booi, Lolo Waka, Clifford Hodgson, Yongama Gaza, Bernard le Roux, Solly Tyibilika, Gareth Krause (c), Andries Kruger, Samora Fihlani, Buhle Mxunyelwa, Greg van Jaarsveld, Patrick Mulamba.

Reserves: Matthew Taljard, Lonwabo Mtimka, Sokhana Mkona, Dumisani Meslane, Morne Adams, Andisa Gqobo, Thembani Mkokeli.

Mighty Elephants – Ryan Brown, Rocco Jansen, Siviwe Magaba, De Wet Barry (c), Howard Noble, Wesley Dunlop, Marlon Lewis, Lubabalo Mzwakali, Jacques Potgieter, Enoch Panya, Ruahan van Jaarsveld, Andries Smit, Raoul Larson, Herkie Liebenberg, Pumlani Nodikida.

Reserves: Robert Dyer, Sangoni Mxoli, Michael Vermaak, Elroy Ligman, Chad Erskine, Carl Bezuidenhout, Alipate Fatafehi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.