Watson to captain Province against Lions

Western Province  Currie Cup coach Allister Coetzee on Wednesday announced that Luke Watson will captain the Currie Cup team for the 2009 season.

Coetzee made the announcement when he named the WP side to play the touring British and Irish Lions at Newlands on Saturday afternoon.

Luke Watson will captain the Western Province rugby team against the British and Irish Lions at Newlands

Several leading WP players such as Adriaan Fondse (lock), Brian Mujati (prop), Dylan des Fountain (centre), Deon Fourie (hooker) and Hilton Lobberts (lock) were not considered because they are carrying an assortment of injuries.

Western Province:


Joe Pietersen; Tonderai Chavhanga, Morgan Newman, Peter Grant, Gcobani Bobo; Willem De Waal, Dewaldt Duvenage; Luke Watson (capt), Duane Vermeulen, Pieter Louw, Anton Van Zyl, Martin Muller, Brok Harris, Tiaan Liebenberg, Wicus Blaauw.

Replacements – Hanyani Shimange, JD Moller, De Kock Steenkamp, Zandre Jordaan, Conrad Hoffmann, JJ Engelbrecht, Gio Aplon.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.