Smith wins 4th Australian S14 player of the year

Wallabies flanker George Smith has claimed the Australian Player of the Year in the Super 14 competition for a fourth consecutive season.

The ACT Brumbies’ loose forward overhauled NSW Waratahs and Wallabies prop Benn Robinson to finish with 18 points to take the award, which was announced late Thursday.

Robinson was second on 16 points, followed in equal third position on 14 points by the Western Force’s teenage utility back James O’Connor and Queensland Reds outside back Digby Ioane.

Smith and former Test fullback Chris Latham have dominated the award with Latham also winning it four times.

Rugby journalists decided on the top three Australian players from each Super 14 match involving the NSW Waratahs, Queensland Reds, Western Force and Brumbies.

Australian Super 14 Awards

Player of the Series: George Smith

Rookie of the Series: Laurie Weeks

Coach of the Series: Chris Hickey

Referee of the Series: Stuart Dickinson

Try of the Series: Quade Cooper

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.