Exiles beat Worcester and seal Semi spot

Worcester skipper Matt Powell was denied a winning send off as his team went down 15-32 to London Irish at Sixways Stadium on Saturday.

Unfortunately for the now-retired scrum-half, tries from Sailosi Tagicakibau, Chris Hala’ufia, Declan Danaher and two by Paul Hodgson ultimately overshadowed Chris Fortey and George Crook’s consolatory tries for the hosts.

The game erupted into life when Tagicakibau broke the deadlock with a try in the 16th minute, which was duly converted by Delon Armitage.

Fortey soon responded with his own effort in the 21st minute and Joe Carlisle brought the hosts level with the conversion.

Carlisle then nudged the Warriors in front with a penalty in the 31st minute. However, the lead was short-lived as Armitage soon equalised, likewise from a penalty, leaving the scores at 10-10 going into the break.

The second stanza ignited when Hala’ufia crossed over barely three minutes in. Armitage made no mistake with the kick to give the visitors a seven point lead.

Hodgson added five more with a try in the 51st minute. Armitage missed the conversion and did the same when Danaher crossed over seven minutes later.

Hodgson then bagged his second try in the 71st minute, with Armitage once again, missing the kick.

Crook managed to surface a minute before time with his team’s second try, which Carlisle failed to convert, leaving Irish comfortably in front at the final whistle.

Final Score Worcester Warriors 15 London Irish 32


Worcester Warriors
Tries: Chris Fortey, George Crook
Conversions: Joe Carlisle
Penalties: Carlisle

London Irish
Tries: Sailosi Tagicakibau, Chris Hala’ufia, Paul Hodgson (2), Declan Danaher
Conversions: Delon Armitage (2)
Penalties: Armitage


Worcester Warriors: Crichton Fellows Gear Grove Benjamin Carlisle Powell Black Fortey Morris Kitchener Bowley Wood Collins Talei.

Replacements: Ruwers Lutui Lyons Abbott Arr Crook Penn.

London Irish :Armitage Thompstone Richards Mapusua Tagickibau Hewat Hodgson Dermody Coetzee Skuse Kennedy Casey Danaher Armitage Hala’Ufia.

Replacements: Corbisiero Buckland Johnson Hudson Thorpe Ojo Catt.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.