Reds go down in record match

In the only Super 14 match being played in Australia this weekend the Reds were at home in the Suncorp Stadium hosting the Brumbies. It was a tough local Derby as both teams fancy themselves for a Semi final spot.

By half time both teams had endured having a player in the sin bin and both teams still had 3 points each.


As an indication of the way the match was going by half time the score may have been level but every stat pointed to the Reds dominance in the half.


Brando Va’alu of the Reds looked to have scored a try in the first 20 minutes but the Ref called them back and awarded a penalty.


The most exciting point of the match occured in the 71st minute as the Reds Lloyd Johansson earned himself a yellow card by coat-hangering Stirling Mortlock who does not look well but is being helped off the field.


The Brumbies were then awarded a penalty which Julian Huxley took and the Brumbies led.


The Reds now have the (dis)honour of losing the match with the lowest score ever in a Super14 match.


 Full time score  : Reds – 3 – Brumbies 6


Reds –
Penalty: Clinton Schifcofske

Brumbies –
Penalty: Stirling Mortlock, Julian Huxley.


Reds: 15 Clinton Schifcofske, 14 Henari Veratau, 13 Ben Tune, 12 Lloyd Johansson, 11 Peter Hynes, 10 Berrick Barnes, 9 Nic Berry, 8 John Roe (c), 7 David Croft, 6 Mitch Chapman, 5 James Horwill, 4 Ed O’Donoghue, 3 Rodney Blake, 2 Sean Hardman, 1 Greg Holmes
Replacements: 16 Stephen Moore, 17 Ben Coutts, 18 Cam Treloar, 19 Tom McVerry, 20 Will Genia, 21 Quade Cooper, 22 Brando Va’alu


15 Julian Huxley, 14 Clyde Rathbone, 13 Stirling Mortlock (c), 12 Gene Fairbanks, 11 Mark Gerrard, 10 Stephen Larkham, 9 George Gregan, 8 Stephen Hoiles, 7 George Smith, 6 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Jeremy Paul, 1 Nic Henderson
Replacements: Saia Saingaa, Salesi Ma’asu, Richard Stanford, Jone Tawake, Patrick Phibbs, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Matt Carraro
Referee: Matt Goddard (Australia)
Touch judges: George Ayoub (Australia), James Scholtens (Australia)
Television match official: Nathan Pearce (Australia)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.