Harlequins suffer from Sale Sharks bite

Sale Sharks picked up a 28-6 bonus point Guinness Premiership victory over Harlequins on Friday night at Edgeley Park.

The hosts squandered an early opportunity to take the lead in the second minute when Charlie Hodgson missed a penalty attempt.

Sharks wing Oriol Ripol was sin-binned after 13 minutes and the visitors took advantage with a successful penalty from Waisea Luveniyali.

However, shortly before the break Sale were awarded a penalty try after a deliberate infringement by Mike Ross, earning him a yellow card, and Hodgson slotted the conversion to give his side a four-point lead at half-time.

The second half was one-way traffic as Sale dominated play and scored three unanswered tries, the first of which came two minutes after the break through Sebastien Chabal, whose try was converted by Hodgson.

Quins reduced the deficit to eight points thanks to a penalty from Andy Gomarsall, but the result was put beyond doubt when South African Rudi Keil crashed over the try-line before Hodgson did his job with the boot.

Sale notched-up their fourth try of the match in stoppage time with Richard Wigglesworth getting over the line, and Hodgson completed his fourth conversion to round off a convincing win.

Final Score Sale 28 (7) Harlequins 6 (3)


Tries – Penalty, Chabal, Keil,Wigglesworth
Penalties –
Conversions – Hodgson 4

Tries –
Penalties – Luveniyali, Gomarsall
Conversions –




Sale Sharks: 15. Nick Macleod 14. David Doherty 13. Mathew Tait 12. Andy Tuilagi 11. Oriol Ripol Fortuny 10. Charlie Hodgson 9. Dwayne Peel 1. Andrew Sheridan 2. Sebastien Bruno 3. Eifion Lewis-Roberts 4. Sebastien Chabal 5. Dean Schofield 6. Jason White 7. Neil Briggs 8. Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe

Replacements: 16. Stuart Turner 17. Lionel Faure 18. Chris Jones 19. David Tait 20. Richard Wigglesworth 21. Rudi Keil 22. Selorm Kuadey

Harlequins: 15. Tom Williams 14. David Strettle 13. Gonzalo Tiesi 12. de Wet Barry 11. Seb Stegmann 10. Waisea Luveniyali 9. Andy Gomarsall 1. Ceri Jones 2. Gary Botha 3. Mike Ross 4. James Percival 5. George Robson 6. Chris Robshaw 7. Will Skinner 8. Nick Easter

Replacements: 16. Tani Fuga 17. Mark Lambert 18. Jim Evans 19. Tom Guest 20. Danny Care 21. Neil McMillan 22. Jordan Turner-Hall



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.