Lemi returns for Bristol’s final home game

Paul Hull has announced the team that will face London Wasps on Sunday in the last home fixture of the 2008/9 season.

Returning to the starting line-up is one of the Premierships second highest try scorers, David Lemi, who is named alongside Junior Fatialofa, Luke Eves, Lee Robinson, and completing the backs, Luke Arscott.

Wayne Thompson comes into the starting XV at tight head, whilst Redford Pennycook, Alfie To’aola and Dan Ward-Smith make-up the back row.

The line-up for Sunday shows four starting changes and one positional to the team that played London Irish two weeks ago, a loss which relegated Bristol to The Championship.

Paul Hull insisted that despite the clubs recent relegation, preparations were ongoing to ensure a quick return to the Premiership.

“We know where we’re going to be next year now, so it’s just a matter of continuing to play well, keep up the strong performance and hopefully finish the season with a win”

“We’ve scored twelve tries in the last three games which I’m obviously delighted with. We’re putting the foundations down for next year and we really are looking at expanding the game. We just have to get those wins. It’s a building block and although it’s unfortunate that we’ll be in the Championship next season, I think we’ll be stronger as a result.”

“We’re working constantly on game management. Against Wasps a couple of weeks ago we scored three tries, but tactically at times we let ourselves down and that’s something we’re really focusing on to rectify”

“Wasps are reigning Champions and previous Heineken Cup winners and they won’t want to be at this end of the table for to long.


“They’ll be aiming to rectify that for next season. That rebuilding process will begin immediately and ultimately against us this weekend. They’ve got their challenges and focuses and we’ve got ours. I’m sure it’ll be a cracking game.”

“We want to finish in front of our home crowd well and give a winning performance”

Bristol Rugby

Luke Arscott; Lee Robinson, Luke Eves, Junior Fatialofa, David Lemi, Ed Barnes, Shaun Perry; Mark Irish, Scott Linklater, Wayne Thompson, Mariano Sambucetti, Robert Sidoli, Alfie To’oala, Redford Pennycook, Dan Ward-Smith.

Replacements:Ollie Hayes, Darren Crompton, Roy Winters, James Phillips, Haydn Thomas, Tom Arscott, Mat Turner.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.