London Irish lose out on ECC Qtr final place

London Irish were held out of the European Challenge Cup in a nail-biting encounter which saw Bourgoin progress with a two point victory.


The first half proved to be a battle of the boot, which in the end was won by the English club as four penalties from Delon Armitage gave them a 12-9 lead.


Morgan Parra put away two penalties, while Benjamin Boyet added a drop goal.


Anthony Forest scored the first try of the match early in the second half, but London Irish replied through Seilala Mapusua as neither side managed to take full control.

Parra put another two penalties through the post, as well as Boyet sneaking his second drop goal of the match. But when Mattieu Nicolas crossed the line for Bourgoin’s second try it looked out of reach for London Irish.

Nick Kennedy cut into the lead with a late penalty kick before Steffon Armitage charged over in the last minute to put the home side within two points of a tie.


But the conversion was missed and Bourgoin scraped through.


Final Score London Irish (12) 30-32 (9) Bourgoin




London Irish 
Try: Mapusua, S Armitage
Con: D Armitage
Pen: D Armitage 5, Kennedy

Try: A Forest, M Nicolas
Con: Parra 2
Pen: Parra 4
Drop: Boyet 2


Attendance: 6,455


Referee: Peter Allan (Scotland)



London Irish: Armitage, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Seilala Mapusua, 12 Craig Gower, 11 Sailosi Tagicakibau, 10 Peter Hewat, 9 Peter Richards, 8 Richard Thorpe, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Kieran Roche, 5 James Hudson, 4 Nick Kennedy (capt), 3 Tonga Lea’aetoa, 2 Danie Coetzee, 1 Dan Murphy.

Replacements: 16 Clarke Dermody, 17 David Paice, 18 Gary Johnson, 19 Chris Hala’Ufia, 20 Jonathon Fisher, 21 Paul Hodgson, 22 Adam Thompstone.

Bourgoin: 15 Anthony Forest, 14 Rudi Coetzee, 13 David Janin, 12 Yann David, 11 Jean-Baptiste Coux, 10 Benjamin Boyet, 9 Morgan Parra, 8 Yann Labrit, 7 Wessel Jooste (capt), 6 Julien Frier, 5 Camille Levast, 4 Coenie Basson, 3 Karena Wihongi, 2 Jean-Philippe Genevois, 1 Arnaud Tchougong.

Replacements: 16 Pablo Cardinali, 17 Wessel Roux, 18 Thomas Genevois, 19 Bogdan Leonte, 20 Mickael Forest, 21 Matias Viazzo, 22 Florian Denos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.