Brumbies welcome back their skipper

The Brumbies have welcomed back skipper Stirling Mortlock to their Super 14 line-up to face Australian rivals the Reds at Suncorp Stadium on Saturday.

Mortlock has been named, as expected, at outside centre pending results of tests following his opening-round concussion suffered against the Chiefs in the first round of the Super 14.

Utility back Adam Ashley-Cooper reverts back to the bench due to Mortlock’s return.

Wallaby wing Mark Gerrard, who played 75 minutes off the bench against the Blues, also returns to the starting XV in place of the injured Peter Playford.

In other changes, former Reds player Adam Wallace-Harrison has been promoted to the Brumbies’ pack for this weekend’s derby match.

Wallace-Harrison, who started at blindside flanker in two matches last season, said he was looking forward to returning to the Brumbies back-row following the loss of Julian Salvi (knee).

“I played a bit of six and eight last year in what was one of my better seasons,” Wallace-Harrison said.

“I enjoy the freedom and the chance to get my hands on the ball. It also gives me a license to get around the park a bit more.

“The Reds have strung together two strong performances and we know they’ll be tough in Brisbane,” he said.

The two-meter tall Wallace-Harrison, a fine line-out technician, left Brisbane for the Brumbies in 2004 after two injury-riddled seasons and is one of five former Reds in the Brumbies starting side.

Brumbies: 15 Julian Huxley, 14 Clyde Rathbone, 13 Stirling Mortlock (c), 12 Gene Fairbanks, 11 Mark Gerrard, 10 Stephen Larkham, 9 George Gregan, 8 Stephen Hoiles, 7 George Smith, 6 Adam Wallace-Harrison, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Alister Campbell, 3 Guy Shepherdson, 2 Jeremy Paul, 1 Nic Henderson
Replacements: Saia Saingaa, Salesi Ma’asu, Richard Stanford, Jone Tawake, Patrick Phibbs, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Matt Carraro

Date: Saturday 17 February
Kick-off: 19:30 (08:30 GMT)
Venue: Suncorpe Stadium, Brisbane
Referee: Stuart Dickinson (Australia)
Touch judges: Matt Goddard (Australia), James Scholtens (Australia)
Television match official: Nathan Pearce (Australia)

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.