London Irish and Bath draw

London Irish overturned a 17-point first-half deficit to draw 20-20 with Bath at The Rec on Saturday.

Bath began the match at a furious pace and big lock forward Stuart Hooper broke the Irish defence when he crashed over the line for the first score of the game in the 11th minute.

South African flyhalf Butch James missed the conversion, but winger Matt Banahan doubled the lead for the hosts as he scored his club’s second try.

James again had trouble with the conversion, but eight minutes later the club managed to extend their lead when fullback Joe Maddock (pictured) found the tryline.


This time James got the conversion and Bath rugby were looking extremely strong at 17-0 going into the break.

Five minutes into the second period the Exiles finally managed to get their first points on the board as Adam Thompstone got the try.

England international Shane Geraghty missed the conversion, but succeeded with a penalty minutes later to reduce the deficit to 11 points.

The Exiles then mounted a magnificent fightback as Seilala Mapasua and England winger Topsy Ojo crossed over for tries. A conversion from Geraghty then brought the scores level at 20-20 as James also added a penalty for Bath.

With 14 minutes left on the clock, both teams looked to gain the edge, but it wasn’t to be as they were forced to settle for a share of the points.

Final Score Bath 20 London Irish 20


Tries: Stuart Hooper, Matt Banahan, Joe Maddock.
Con: Butch James.
Pen: James

London Irish
Tries: Adam Thompstone, Seilala Mapasua, Topsy Ojo.
Con: Shane Geraghty.
Pen: Shane Geraghty


Bath : 15 Joe Maddock, 14 Andrew Higgins, 13 Alex Crockett, 12 Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, 11 Matt Banahan, 10 Butch James, 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Daniel Browne, 7 Michael Lipman (c), 6 Andy Beattie, 5 Stuart Hooper, 4 Justin Harrison, 3 Duncan Bell, 2 Pieter Dixon, 1 David Flatman.

Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Peter Short, 19 Jonny Faamatuainu, 20 Scott Bemand, 21 Shaun Berne, 22 Nick Abendanon.

London Irish: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Topsy Ojo, 13 Elvis Seveali’i, 12 Seilala Mapusua, 11 Adam Thompstone, 10 Shane Geraghty, 9 Paul Hodgson, 8 Chris Hala’Ufia, 7 Steffon Armitage, 6 Richard Thorpe, 5 Bob Casey (c), 4 James Hudson, 3 Alex Corbisiero, 2 James Buckland, 1 Clarke Dermody.

Replacements: 16 Tonga Lea’aetoa, 17 Danie Coetzee, 18 Gary Johnson, 19 Declan Danaher, 20 Peter Richards, 21 Alfredo Lalanne, 22 Eoghan Hickey.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.