Brumbies open 2009 Super 14 with bonus point victory

The Brumbies kicked off their 2009 Super14 campaign with a 31-33 bonus point victory over the Highlanders at the House of Pain in Dunedin.

The Brumbies looked like they were in for a thumping as they let in three tries and went 19-0 down before staging an admirable comeback in the second half.

Tries from Highlanders Jason Shoemark, Fetu’u Vainikolo and Daniel Bowden had the Highlanders in a commanding lead but the Brumbies are renowned for not panicking and steadily working their way back into a match and that was eaxctly what they did.

At half time the Highlanders led 19-10.

The Brumbies opened the second half with a try from Stirling Mortlock which brought his Super Rugby try tally to 51 having scored his 50th Super Rugby try in the first half.

The Brumbies followed that try up with another two tries in the next 11 minutes earning them the bonus point for four tries.


Once the Brumbies stretched their lead to 30 points they took their foot off the gas and let the Highlanders back in. 


Two tries put the Highlanders back in the lead but a very late drop goal from Christian Lealiifano sealed the victory for the Brumbies.


The Highlanders picked up two bonus points for four tries and finishing with seven points while the Brumbies picked up a bonus point.


Full time Score is Highlanders 31  Brumbies 33




Tries -Jason Shoemark, Fetu’u Vainikolo, Daniel Bowden, Chris King, Jason Rutledge
Penalties –
Conversions – Daniel Bowden 3
Drop Goals –


Tries  -Stirling Mortlock 2, Adam Ashley-Cooper,Mark Gerrard
Penalties – Mark Gerrard 2
Conversions -Mark Gerrard 2
Drop Goals  -Christian Lealiifano


Match – Highlanders v Brumbies
Venue – Dunedin
Time pm – 19.35
Referee – James Leckie
Ass Ref. – 1 V Munro (NZ)
Ass Ref. – 2 K Brown(NZ)
TMO – S McDermot (NZ)
Performance Reviewer – G Wahlstrom



Highlanders: Israel Dagg, Ben Smith, Jason Shoemark, Johnny Leota, Fetu’u Vainikolo, Daniel Bowden, Jimmy Cowan (capt), Steven Setephano, Alando Soakai, Adam Thomson, Hayden Triggs, Josh Bekhuis, Clint Newland, David Hall, Jamie Mackintosh.


Reps: Jason Rutledge, Chris King, George Naoupu, Tim Boys, Sean Romans, Jayden Hayward/Brett Mather, Kenny Lynn.


Brumbies: Mark Gerrard, Clyde Rathbone, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Stirling Mortlock, Francis Fainifo, Christian Lealiifano, Patrick Phibbs, Stephen Hoiles (capt), George Smith, Julian Salvi, Mark Chisholm, Ben Hand, Guy Shepherdson, Stephen Moore, Nic Henderson.


Reps: John Ulugia, Ben Alexander, Sitaleki Timani, Peter Kimlin, Josh Holmes, Tyrone Smith, Matt Toomua.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.