Saracens edge out London Irish

In a closely contested Guinness Premiership match Saracens edged out London Irish 16-13 at Vicarage Road on Saturday, ending the league leaders’ nine-game unbeaten run.

Irish scored the opening try from absolutely nothing when an aimless kick from Saracens was countered by Peter Hewat who put Declan Danaher into space and he rounded off the attack sliding past the last defenders.

However, two penalties from Glen Jackson kept Sarries in touch until they negated Danaher’s try through Mosese Rauluni who sniped around the edge of a ruck in Irish’s 22 and dived over the tryline, giving the hosts a three-point lead heading into the change rooms.

A determined defensive display from both sides after the break limited the scoring to an exchange of penalties between Hewat and Jackson, as Sarries denied Irish their 10th consecutive win.

Final Score Saracens 16 London Irish 13


Tries: Moses Raulini
Cons: Glen Jackson
Pens: Glen Jackson (3)

London Irish
Tries: Declan Danaher
Cons: Peter Hewat
Pens: Peter Hewat (2)


Saracens: Alex Goode, Ratuvou, Sorrell, Powell, Cato, Jackson, de Kock, Lloyd, Ongaro, Johnston, Borthwick (capt), Jack, van Heerden, Saull, Owen.

Replacements: Kyriacou, Visagie, Vyvyan, Skirving, Raulini, A Farrell, Penney.

London Irish : Hewat, Ojo, Seveali’I, Mapasua, Tagicakibau, Geraghty, Hodgson, Dermody, Paice, Lea’aetoa, Hudson, Casey, Danaher, S Armitage, Hala’ufia.

Replacements: D Murphy, Buckland, Roche, Thorpe, Bailey, Lalanne, Catt.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.