Currie Cup to be shared no longer

The Presidents Council of the South African Rugby Union (SARU) have decided that the Currie Cup trophy can no longer be shared by two sides and have created provisions for a winner to be declared outright.

This has been decided after the 2006 final ended in a draw, with the Blue Bulls and the Cheetahs having to share the trophy.

Harold Verster, chairperson of SA Rugby’s competition committee, explained on Monday to Die Volksblad how exactly an outright winner would be determined.

If the scores are level after 80 minutes in the final, extra time of 20 minutes will be played. Then, if the scores are still level, the team that scored most tries in the match will win the Cup.

If the teams have scored the same number of tries, the side that finished at the top of the Currie Cup log after the league phase of the competition will be crowned as champions.

Last year, the Currie Cup final ended in a 25-all draw. After 20 minutes of extra time, the scores were 28-28 and the Cup had to be shared.

It then had to be decided which union would hold the Currie Cup for the first six months. The honour went to the Cheetahs.

Only four draws have been recorded in Currie Cup finals and the men from Pretoria were involved in every one.

Transvaal and Northern Transvaal shared the spoils in 1971 (14-all), Northern Transvaal and Western Province did so in 1979 (15-all) and 1989 (16-all) and the Cheetahs and the Blue Bulls drew last year.

365 Digital

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.