Late Butch James try seals Bath win over Leicester

Butch James scored on the brink of fulltime to give Bath a 27-21 victory over the Leicester Tigers in a pulsating Guinness Premiership fixture on Saturday.

The early exchanges proved to be a battle of the boot as South African duo James and Derick Hougaard traded penalties.

Bath then crossed the line through another South African as hooker Pieter Dixon picked up the try for the home side and James converted to make it 10-3.

World Cup winner James added a second penalty just after the half hour and with two minutes before the break Daniel Browne scored Bath’s second try to give them a 20-3 lead at half time.

Two penalties in seven minutes after the break from Hougaard then brought the Tigers back into the match at 20-9.

On the hour Johne Murphy went over for the Tigers’ first try, but Hougaard missed the conversion leaving Heyneke Meyer’s men trailing by six points.

The match then turned with three minutes remaining as relentless pressure from the visitors resulted in a try from replacement Mefin Davies. Geordan Murphy had the pressure kick to put the Tigers up by one and the veteran fullback delivered to give his side the lead.

The Tigers looked to have won it until James broke the hearts of the visitors with a converted try to give his side a fantastic 27-21 win.

Final Score Bath 27 Leicester 21



Tries: Daniel Browne, Pieter Dixon, Butch James.
Cons: James (3).
Pens: James (2)

Tries: Johne Murphy, Mefin Davies.
Con: Geordan Murphy.
Pens: Hougaard (3)


Bath: 15 Joe Maddock, 14 Andrew Higgins, 13 Alex Crockett (c), 12 Shaun Berne, 11 Matt Banahan, 10 Butch James, 9 Scott Bemand, 8 Daniel Browne, 7 Jonny Faamatuainu, 6 Peter Short, 5 Danny Grewcock, 4 Justin Harrison, 3 Duncan Bell, 2 Pieter Dixon, 1 David Barnes.

Replacements: 16 Rob Hawkins, 17 Aaron Jarvis, 18 Stuart Hooper, 19 James Scaysbrook, 20 Mike Baxter, 21 Eliota Fuimaono-Sapolu, 22 Jack Cuthbert.

Leicester: 15 Geordan Murphy, 14 Johne Murphy, 13 Dan Hipkiss, 12 Aaron Mauger, 11 Matt Smith, 10 Derick Hougaard, 9 Julien Dupuy, 8 Jordan Crane. 7 Lewis Moody, 6 Martin Corry (c), 5 Marco Wentzel, 4 Richard Blaze, 3 Dan Cole, 2 George Chuter, 1 Boris Stankovich.

Replacements: 16 Mefin Davies, 17 Santiago Bonorino, 18 Ben Kay, 19 Brett Deacon, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Tom Varndell, 22 Craig Newby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.