Saints leave Scarlets red faced and book Semi Spot

Northampton Saints continued to impress in their first season since promotion to the Guinness Premiership by beating Scarlets at Franklins Gardens by 33 points to 20.


Saints scored four tries to three in the match but it was their second half performance that won them the match as the scores were level at 13- all when the half time whistle went.


The result means that Northampton have booked a place in the EDF Energy Cup Semi-final.

Saints needed their fourth try as Saracens came back to win at Bristol to book their place at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry


The Scarlets took a 10-0 lead after just eight minutes when outside centre Regan King and fullback Morgan Stoddart crossed fir a try.

Right wing Chris Ashton got the Saints’ point scoring off the mark with two tries as the teams went in for half-time with the match locked at 13-13.

The table toping Saints started the second-period like a house on fire and took the lead when veteran Bruce Reihana notched up yet another try in a Northampton jersey.

Scottish flyer Sean Lamont claimed a bonus point for their fourth try while Stephen Myler managed two penalties for a 30-13 advantage.

Substitute Jonathan Davies claimed a late consolation try but the damage had been done as the Saints maintain control of Group D with a 33-20 victory.


Final Score Northampton 33 (13)- Scarlets 20 – (13)


Tries -Ashton 2, Reihana, Lamont
Pen – Myler 3
Con – Myler 2


Tries-King, Stoddart, Davies
Pen – Thomas
Con – S Jones


Northampton Saints: Bruce Reihana (c), Chris Ashton, Chris Mayor, James Downey, Sean Lamont, Stephen Myler, Ben Foden, Tom Smith, Paul Shields, Euan Murray, Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe, Courtney Lawes, Mark Hopley, Scott Gray, Roger Wilson.

Replacements: Joe Gray, Soane Tonga’uiha, Christian Day, Mark Easter, Lee Dickson, Carlos Spencer, Paul Diggin

Scarlets: Morgan Stoddart; Rob Higgitt, Regan King, Gavin Evans, Matthew Jacobs; Ceiron Thomas, Sililo Martens; Iestyn Thomas, Ken Owens, Kees Meeuws, Dominic Day, Dafydd Jones, Nathan Thomas, Simon Easterby (capt), David Lyons.

Replacements: Phil John, Matthew Rees, Josh Turnbull, Gavin Thomas, Martin Roberts, Stephen Jones, Jonathan Davies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.