Unchanged line up for Sharks Currie Cup final

As expected, the Sharks have kept the exact same team for Saturday’s Absa Currie Cup final against the Bulls.


The same team did the business against the Lions in their October 11 semi-final and this means the all-international backline and all-Springbok front row has been retained, as well as the star-studded bench which includes World Cup winning Springbok captain John Smit.

The Sharks have certainly reaped the rewards from continuity over the last few weeks and they will be hoping the same formula works its magic once again on Saturday.

The coastal franchise has kept their preparation exactly the same this week as well, as they have opted to stick to the same training formula as used for the semi-final.

Sharks coach John Plumtree (pictured) said he was just doing the best job he could in this final week, adding that his experience of finals had proven that their is no “right recipe”.

“I’ve been in this situation a lot and there’s no right recipe, it’s all about what happens on the day. I’m just trying to prepare this team as best I know how.

The two teams may have different strategies and different ways of preparing but I’ve just been focused on doing what I can do. “In the end, I also have to just stand back and watch them perform, but I’m really excited about the challenge.”

There is no doubt that their are going to be some mouth-watering personal duels on Saturday but it is likely to come down to who wants it the most and who keeps their patience, composure and structure.

It’s going to be an absolute classic, that’s for sure.”

Sharks Matchday 22

15. Stefan Terblanche , 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Adrian Jacobs , 12. Francois Steyn , 11. JP Pietersen, 10. Frederic Michalak, 9. Ruan Pienaar , 8. Ryan Kankowski , 7. Jean Deysel, 6. Jacques Botes , 5. Johann Muller (Capt), 4. Steven Sykes
3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis , 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: 16. John Smit , 17. Deon Carstens, 18. Albert van den Berg, 19. Keegan Daniel, 20. Rory Kockott , 21. Bradley Barritt , 22. Waylon Murray.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.