Bulls stick with winning side for Currie Cup final

Blue Bulls coach , Frans Ludeke, has named an unchanged team for Saturday’s Absa Currie Cup final between the Bulls and the Sharks.

Ludeke said at the press conference held at Loftus Versfeld on Tuesday that naming the same team brings calmness to the camp and it is vital for him that the combinations stay the same for a tense match as is the Currie Cup final.

“When players play a few games next to one another they start to anticipate what their teammates are going to do and then you can start to function as a team. We are in a situation where the guys play for each other and they do not just worry about their own game.”

Ludeke is not worried that the Sharks are the heavy favourites for the final and says that the Blue Bulls will focus on their own game.

“We have confidence in ourselves and in our structures, but this is a totally new game and we will work for the right result.

“There is a sense of urgency in the team and the players are focused and we all know there is going to be a test atmosphere in Durban, but we will only concentrate on what we need to do to win.”

Captain Victor Matfield added that the team is used to routine and therefore they will approach this game more or less the same as any other final.

“A couple of us have played in a number of finals and we will just do what worked for us in the past.

“Playing in a final is a huge honour and you do get nervous from time to time, but with the nerves comes adrenaline and that gives you the necessary extra energy.

“We know it is not going to be easy but we are going to fight for the full 80 minutes to ensure that the Currie Cup comes back to Pretoria.”

The Blue Bulls team is:

Zane Kirchner, John Mametsa, Marius Delport, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Morne Steyn, Fourie du Preez, Pierre Spies, Wikus van Heerden, Deon Stegmann, Victor Matfield (capt.), Danie Rossouw, Rayno Gerber, Derick Kuun, Gurthro Steenkamp.

Replacements: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Werne Kruger, Juandre Kruger, Dewald Potgieter, Heini Adams, Burton Francis, Tiger Mangweni.

Sapa – CurrieCupRugby.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.