New Zealand to host 2011 Rugby World cup

The International Rugby Board hasvoted to allow New Zealand the right to host the Rugby World cup in 2011 by beating South Africa & Japan in an Olympic Style vote.


New Zealand hosted the first Rugby World cup in 1987 and was scheduled to co host the Rugby World cup in 2003 but had issues with offering the IRB stadiums free of advertising.


South Africa was voted out in the 1st round of voting.

New Zealand’s bidwas based on its historical contribution to world rugby and the legacy a tournament in 2011 would provide for the country and the Pacific Islands. The bid’s strongest claimwas that rugby is New Zealand’s only national sport and that hosting the 2011 World Cup would create a fervour for the game for future generations of players, administrators and coaches.

The bid called forthe smaller nations to vote for New Zealand if they wanted to host the RWC as a World cup in New Zealand would keep the World cup small.

The Stadiums

Eden Park (Auckland): Capacity 50,000

The ground will be upgraded to a capacity of 60,000.

Hosted the first game of the 1987 World Cup and also the final, when New Zealand beat France 29-9.

Waikato Stadium (Hamilton): Capacity 25,800

Underwent a complete refurbishment and reopened in 2001. Hosted its first international when the All Blacks played Italy in 2002. Hosted the 2005 British and Irish Lions match against New Zealand Maori, won by the Maori 19-11.

Railyards Stadium (Wellington): Capacity 34,500

Opened in 2000 to become New Zealand’s newest stadium, though the corrugated iron exterior on the oval-shaped ground forced locals to dub it “The Cake Tin”.

Home to the Wellington provincial side and Hurricanes Super 14 team, the stadium doubles as a one-day cricket venue and also hosts the New Zealand leg of the IRB’s seven series.

Lancaster Park (Christchurch): Capacity 36,500

Founded in 1880, the ground has been the scene of several of New Zealand’s greatest sporting moments.

Home of the Canterbury Crusaders, who have won five Super 12 titles.

Carisbrook (Dunedin): Capacity 38,000

Dubbed “the House of Pain” after New Zealand’s superb record at the ground.

A dual-purpose venue, it has undergone refurbishment in recent years, including levelling off the embankment into terraces though its facilities have been criticised and the ground has been left off the international schedule in 2006. Accommodation is limited in the area and the stadium has been know to run out of beer in internationals.

New Zealand won the first World Cup in 1987, beating France 29-9 in the final.

They lost 16-6 to Australia in the semi-finals in 1991, 15-12 in extra time to South Africa in the 1995 final, 43-31 to France in the 1999 semi-finals and to Australia again, 22-10, in the 2003 semi-finals.

New Zealand

  • Capital: Wellington
  • Population: 4.1 million
  • Registered players: 137,961
  • Member unions: 27
  • Affiliated clubs: 400

Professional franchises: Auckland Blues, Waikato Chiefs, Wellington Hurricanes, Canterbury Crusaders, Otago Highlanders

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.