Tigers name 13 from last year’s final

Head coach Marcelo Loffreda has named his Leicester Tigers team to defend the EDF Energy Cup trophy against Ospreys at Twickenham on Saturday.

Martin Corry leads a squad which features 13 survivors from last year’s final against the same opposition.

Loffreda, preparing for his first cup final with Tigers, welcomes back Aaron Mauger alongside Dan Hipkiss at centre. Johne Murphy, Ollie Smith and Alesana Tuilagi, who was among the try-scorers in last year’s victory, form the back three. Harry Ellis and Andy Goode continue at half-back.

Boris Stankovich lines up with George Chuter and Martin Castrogiovanni in the front row. Louis Deacon and Ben Kay continue at lock, while skipper Corry is joined in the back row by Ben Herring and Jordan Crane.

The bench includes England internationals Julian White, Tom Croft and Tom Varndell.

Geordan Murphy, Lewis Moody, James Hamilton, Marco Wentzel and Luke Abraham are among those ruled out by injury, while Seru Rabeni is suspended.

Leicester Tigers (versus Ospreys, Twickenham, Saturday 2.30pm)
15 Johne Murphy
14 Ollie Smith
13 Dan Hipkiss
12 Aaron Mauger
11 Alesana Tuilagi
10 Andy Goode
9 Harry Ellis
1 Boris Stankovich
2 George Chuter
3 Martin Castrogiovanni
4 Louis Deacon
5 Ben Kay
6 Martin Corry (c)
7 Ben Herring
8 Jordan Crane

16 Benjamin Kayser
17 Julian White
18 Richard Blaze
19 Tom Croft
20 Christophe Laussucq
21 Sam Vesty
22 Tom Varndell



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.