Lemi returns as Bristol prepare to tackle Gloucester

David Lemi returns on the left wing as Richard Hill names his Bristol Rugby side to take on West Country rivals Gloucester at the Memorial Stadium on Sunday.

Lemi has missed the team’s last two starts having returned home to Samoa to be with his wife and sick son. All is now well in the Lemi household, however, and all three have returned to Bristol.

Lemi’s return is timely with top try scorer for the season Tom Arscott ruled out due to the hamstring injury that forced him to leave the game at Worcester.

Lee Robinson starts with Anthony Elliott only just having returned from England Sevens duty and Brian O’Riordan is back at scrum half in place of Graeme Beveridge.

Up front, Scott Linklater gets the start at hooker in place of Mark Regan who is named on the replacements bench and Joe El Abd is named as the starting openside.

Richard Hill acknowledged when he announced his starting line up that he is seeking to field a team against Gloucester who are as fresh as possible:

“Our international contingent are back but what we need to do is make sure that our starting XV are those people who are fully rested.”

“So, I’ve kept a couple of players like Ronnie back but I will be looking to introduce them at some stage.”

“Scott (Linklater) has been training well. He’s got to step up and has got big boots to fill taking over from Ronnie but he’s capable of doing that.”

“It’s going to be tough. Gloucester are a high quality side with threats all over the field. Normally, you can find one or two areas in a team which you can negate but Gloucester have quality all over.

“So, our defence will have to be better than it has been the last couple of times we’ve played them and we’ll have to get our set piece right.”

“We’re hoping to go and attack Gloucester. You can’t just sit back against them and defend, we were guilty of that up at Kingsholm. So, we’ll have to go out and play some rugby which should make it an entertaining afternoon.”

Bristol Rugby:

Luke Arscott; Lee Robinson, Rob Higgitt, David Hill, David Lemi; Jason Strange, Brian O’Riordan; Darren Crompton, Scott Linklater, Jason Hobson; Roy Winters, Sean Hohneck; Matt Salter, Joe El Abd, Andrew Blowers


Mark Regan, Alex Clarke, Gareth Llewellyn, Alfie To’oala, Graeme Beveridge, Sam Cox, Josh Taumalolo.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.