Tigers name team for Gloucester

Tigers head coach Marcelo Loffreda has named 10 internationals in his side’s starting line up for this Saturday’s Guinness Premiership trip to Gloucester.


Martin Corry captains the side from the blindside flank, with England Saxons flanker Jordan Crane and former Wellington Hurricanes openside Ben Herring also included in the back row.


Marcos Ayerza, George Chuter and Alex Moreno make up an all-international front row, while England Six Nations squad member Tom Croft links up with Springbok Marco Wentzel in the second row.

Christophe Laussucq and Andy Goode start at half-back, with Aaron Mauger and Ayoola Erinle in the centres and Ollie Smith, Tom Varndell and Johne Murphy completing an experienced backline.

Tigers travel to Gloucester this Saturday knowing a win could take them top the top of the Premiership standings for the first time this season.

Four Tigers are on Six Nations duty this weekend, while Lewis Moody and Louis Deacon miss out through injury. Also on the injured list are Luke Abraham, Richard Blaze, Harry Ellis and Alesana Tuilagi.

“We’ve had some good wins recently in the Guinness Premiership and we’d obviously like to keep that run going,” says Tigers forwards coach Richard Cockerill.


“Going to Kingsholm is always an exciting challenge and that is definitely the case this year. They have an impressive squad and they’ve been playing some good rugby this season so we know that we will have to perform well if we are to come away with a win.

“We have complete confidence in our squad and we are proud of the strength in depth we have at this club. We are missing a few of the guys but we are still able to put out a strong side.”

Tigers (vs Gloucester, Kingsholm, Saturday, kick-off 3pm)

15. Johne Murphy
14. Tom Varndell
13. Ayoola Erinle
12. Aaron Mauger
11. Ollie Smith
10. Andy Goode
9. Christophe Lausucqq

1. Marcos Ayerza
2. George Chuter
3. Alex Moreno
4. Tom Croft
5. Marco Wentzel
6. Martin Corry (c)
7. Ben Herring
8. Jordan Crane


16. Benjamin Kayser
17. Dave Young
18. Gregor Gillanders
19. Brett Deacon
20. Frank Murphy
21. Ian Humphreys
22. Sam Vesty




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.